Holiday Chocolate Chip Cookies starring Candy Cane Joe Joe’s

The fact that Thanksgiving was so late this year has me totally confused me with where we are in December.  I mean, I know Christmas is like 2 weeks away, but my goodness.  Max and I put up our tree embarrassingly early, but that’s just because we will be back in Illinois for the holidays.  It’s acceptable, right?  Maybe not.  I’m not going to bother worrying though.  I have seen like 8 million photos of Christmas trees on social media and they are all pretty beautiful.  Why don’t we keep them up all year again?

Image

Speaking of things we need all year.  Candy Cane Joe Joe’s.  Trader Joe’s sells these cookies called Joe Joe’s all year round (aka OREOS) but then they sell the candy cane type around the holidays.  Well, it’s the only time we get them and we are so addicted.  Oreos also come in the candy cane variety if you aren’t near a Trader Joe’s.  I haven’t even allowed myself to get the chocolate covered Joe Joe’s because I don’t want to know what kind of trouble I’d get into.  The fact is, these cookies are addicting.  Nothing fancy, just a take on the classic Oreo.  Even though these cookies are best left alone, I decide to throw them in a batch of chocolate chip cookies.  And the rest is history.

Hope you are having a happy holiday season.  Merry merry!ImageImage

Holiday Chocolate Chip Cookies starring Candy Cane Joe Joe’s

Makes ~2 dozen

Ingredients 

1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 eggs

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 1/2 cup Candy Cane Joe Joe’s, chunks

1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

3/4 tsp baking soda

2 1/4 cups flour

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  In a large bowl, whisk eggs, vanilla, sugars, and melted butter until fully incorporated.  In a separate bowl, mix flour and baking soda.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix until smooth.  Stir in chocolate chips and Joe Joe’s chunks.  Portion out dough onto cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.  Bake for 13-15 minutes, or until golden.

With love,

Anne

Leave a Reply

