Spicy Pumpkin Soup (and an apology)

Oh dear.  I’m so sorry for being gone for….a long time.  You see, I sort of became tired of blogging all the time.  Don’t get me wrong, I love blogging and trying new recipes to report to you, but sometimes I just like to make breakfast burritos for dinner.  No photos.  Just me and my 5 minute dinner that never gets old.  I mean, I haven’t done that every night since October 8th (oh wow) but you get the point.  Except I made this soup over the weekend and I thought you might enjoy it.  I kind of thought it would be disgusting but when it turned out, I thought, time to get grubbin’.

So I’ll be around from time to time, but just not in the same capacity I once was…

Thanks to those who wondered what the heck was going on…and thanks for reading!  Enjoy 🙂

IMG_6262

Spicy Pumpkin Soup 

Serves 4-6

Ingredients 

1 medium yellow onion, diced

2 Tbsp minced garlic

1 jalapeño, seeded and diced

Olive oil

1 (29 oz) can of pumpkin puree

6 cups vegetable stock

1 cup coconut milk

2 Tbsp cumin

1 Tbsp dried oregano

1 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

1 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

Cilantro for serving

Sriracha for serving

Directions

Generously pour a Tbsp or two of olive oil in a large pot.  On medium-high heat, sauté your garlic, onions and jalapeño for 3 minutes, or until soft.  Add vegetable broth, coconut milk, and pumpkin puree to the pot.  You will have to stir until all the clumps of pumpkin have incorporated with the broth.  Toss all of your spices into the pot and stir well.   Serve with a good amount of fresh cilantro.  Drizzle Sriracha if more spice is needed.

If you have an immersion blender you should use it, if not, you can use a blender to blend any onion chunks, etc.  I didn’t blend it at all and still enjoyed it!

Enjoy with a grilled cheese.

With love,

Anne

Leave a Reply

