FALL-afel

If you’re already sick of me talking about fall, you should tune into the blog in, mmm, 3 months.  Fa-la-la-lafel.  Yesterday we had a thunderstorm.  Wahoa!  Well, we never have those, except this summer we have had MANY.  I’m okay with them.  Makes me think of my childhood.  Just kidding—but, it made me excited for the cooler temperatures.  I’m sure if you watched Sunday night football you would have seen our Seahawks getting struck by lightning!  Actually, if you did watch Sunday night football, you would not have seen that.  I was testing you.  But there was a delay of game which left me with more time to sing Carrie Underwood’s version of the Sunday night football song in my head.  That’s not a good thing, you know.  How do we feel about Faith Hill being replaced by Carrie Underwood?  Faith Hill is 45 years old so I guess it’s time to retire her.  If you ask me, I think they should ask Paul McCartney to sing.  I already know what he would say about Sunday night’s game….TOO MUCH RAIN. 

Too late to get back on track?  I made falafel and it was good.  Thanks to SAVEUR, my savior.  They know food.  And falafel.  Image

Falafel 

Adapted from Saveur

Serves 3-4

Ingredients

1/2 lb. canned chickpeas
1 cup flat-leaf parsley, roughly chopped
1 tsp. flour
3/4 tsp cayenne pepper, if you want some spice
3/4 tsp. ground cumin
3 cloves garlic, smashed
1 small yellow onion, roughly chopped
1 1/2 tsp. baking soda mixed mixed with 1 Tbsp water

Directions

Rinse and drain chickpeas.  Place in food processor with parsley, flour, cayenne, cumin, garlic, and onions.  Pulse until well combined with a coarse texture (may take a few minutes).  Add the baking soda and water mixture and process.  Chill in freezer for 20 minutes.  

Once the falafel mixture is out of the freezer, spoon into round-ish balls.  

Instead of deep frying, I pan-fried the falafel.  They may flatten in shape but still taste the same.  Over medium-high heat, generously drizzle oil onto a sauté pan.  Place falafel on the pan with a little space in between each ball.  Heat until on side is brown and crispy.  Flip falafel over and cook the other side until brown and crispy.  

Serve with whatever you would like!  I had a warm pita coated in hummus, mixed greens, and feta.  Image

With love, 

Anne

 

 

 

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

