Mac and Cheese

 

I’m biased.  This is one of my very favorite macaroni and cheese recipes but it’s because I grew up with it.  You would not find a box of Kraft Macaroni and Cheese in our pantry.  My mom whipped this up in 30 minutes at the most.  She is so good at it.  I hardly make it since it never turns out the same.  So a few days ago when I was thinking about home, I decided my mom’s mac and cheese would make for a perfect dinner.  A perfect, rich and cheesy dinner.  You will also notice that it isn’t neon orange, either…

Image

Mom’s Mac and Cheese

Serves 4

Ingredients

3 cups elbow macaroni

2 cups extra sharp cheddar cheese

2 cups milk (I used 1%)

2 Tbsp butter

2 Tbsp flour 

1 tsp dry mustard

Directions

Boil water and cook pasta according to package.  Cook until almost done.

Meanwhile, heat butter on stovetop in a medium saucepan.  Whisk in flour and dry mustard.   Add the milk, heat and stir.  Finally add your cheese.  Let it melt fully in milk mixture.  Stir for several minutes and let it thicken a little bit.  Once your pasta is drained and back in the pot, add cheese mixture and mix.  Let it sit for 10 whole minutes to thicken properly—no soupy macaroni, please!

Thanks, Mom!

Image

With love, 

Anne 

 

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

