Summer Salad with Avocados and Strawberries

Image

Hellooooo.  This month is such a blur already!  I think that happens when you are on vacation but I’m still not sure if it’s a good or bad thing.  Either way, it’s July 8th and we should be happy to be alive.  What more can you ask for?  Well, a lot, I’m sure.  I’m just trying to make light of the fact that it is Monday.

Maybe you are in need of a lighter dish after this weekend.  Hi!  I’ll help with that!  Well, let’s see if I am still helpful after this story I tell.  Several years ago I got a summer salad from a chain restaurant.  I won’t say the name, but when I spell it backwards it is Arenap.  Anyway, this restaurant had a strawberry salad with poppyseed dressing.  I’m sure they still have it because why not?  It has lots of great things!  Except when I ordered it (years ago), I found a very large bug (no exaggeration) and I haven’t been able to order that, or any salad of the strawberry variety for…well, I still have not ordered one.   I know this could happen anywhere and it could happen in any salad, but I associate it with strawberry salads.  Still hungry?

Loooong story short, I finally decided to MAKE a strawberry salad.  I guess I’m now a control freak.  Better to have me inspect my produce than someone else.   You’d think a non-meat eater would enjoy the protein of a bug once in awhile…noooo thanks.  So here you go.  My rendition of a tasty summer salad.  ImageSummer Salad with Avocados and Strawberries

Serves 4-6

Ingredients 

8-12 ounces of mixed greens and spinach, may vary depending on your desired fruit to vegetable ratio

5 strawberries, thinly sliced

1 1/2 avocados, cubed

5 ounces of goat cheese, crumbled

Handful of pistachios

Your favorite balsamic vinaigrette

Directions

Toss strawberries, avocados, goat cheese, and pistachios with greens.  Mix with your choice of vinaigrette.

Serve immediately.

With l0ve,

Anne

Leave a Reply

