Greek Yogurt Blueberry Pancakes

Image

I’m a big fan of breakfast for dinner.  Usually that means I’m eating a breakfast burrito as spicy as I can make it.  I felt like changing it up and making blueberry pancakes.  Whenever my mom would make pancakes growing up, they would always be blueberry.  There’s something about having that burst of tart flavor in the mix of a fluffy cake.  It just works the best.  Way better than banana or something.  Since I love the tartness, I’m going to try rhubarb next.  Have I told you that I would pick raw rhubarb from the garden when I was little and eat it right outside?  It was the weirdly delicious.  No, I didn’t eat the leaves because then I would be dead.  Morbid enough?  I feel like there needs to be more education on the toxicity of rhubarb leaves.  Not everyone knows.  But everyone should know.  I think I have connections with a health educator that could work on fixing this.  (Oh, that’s me!)

So these pancakes are pretty dense.  [Oh wait, I just got on a rhubarb research kick.  I have more to talk about, okay?  Did you know that rhubarb was considered a vegetable until 1947, but the US used it as a fruit so a New York court decided it would be considered a fruit.  Well who said we use it properly?  If you have more questions about rhubarb, maybe don’t look at Wikipedia like I did.  But when you are no longer doing real research it’s not as much of a crime, right?]

But the pancakes.  Oh yes.  They are made with lots of greek yogurt.  Most pancakes are not but I  like the little extra protein.  The yogurt does not make them quite as fluffy so you may have to eliminate the yogurt and find a different recipe if you want them fluffier.  Just, like, go somewhere else.  HA.  Kidding.  But really.  I just don’t want you to be mad at me.

Image

Greek Yogurt Blueberry Pancakes

Adapted from RecipeGirl

Makes 10, 4 inch pancakes

Ingredients

2 6-ounce containers of Greek yogurt, I used vanilla

2 large eggs

1 cup all-purpose flour

2 tsps baking soda

1 cup fresh blueberries

Syrup for topping

Directions

Mix yogurt and eggs in a bowl until smooth.  Add flour and baking soda.  The batter will be thick.  Use a 1/4 cup to spoon batter onto a greased skillet on medium heat.  Dot blueberries on each pancake and flip after 3 minutes.  Cook for 2 minutes on the other side.  Repeat for all pancakes.

Serve with a good portion of tasty maple syrup.

With love,

Anne

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “Greek Yogurt Blueberry Pancakes

  1. Amanda says:

    Does this mean there’s a rhubarb recipe in the works? .

  2. Amanda says:

    *on the edge of my seat*

Leave a Reply

