Caesar Salad Dressing

Image

Well hi there, June 12th. Where did you come from? It’s almost technically summer but does anyone really wait for the actual date to believe it’s summer? I do not. I wait for the nice warm days mixed with nice rainy days. This weather helps those gardeners out and that’s why I’m posting about caesar salad today! My aunt has a garden and kindly delivered what looks like an endless supply of lettuce so we have been eating huge bowlfuls of the freshest greens you could imagine! There is such a difference between garden fresh and “washed 6 times and good until a puddle of greenish brown liquid appears on the bottom of the bag” fresh.

Now. I used to be a VERY picky eater and I think I have gotten better over the years. I promise. I’m still picky but only about like 5 food items. The rest I can handle (with the exception of meat…duh). Anyway, I am a big fan of caesar salad but i will never order it and I will never buy the dressing. Why? Because I’m still not over the anchovy part. I just don’t see why you have to blend anchovies and pour them over your salad. I know, you cannot even taste them! I’d never know they were in there! Except I DO know they are in there. And it still grosses me out. So I avoid it at all costs. Naturally, I made my own dressing without ‘chovies because why not?

Image

Caesar Salad Dressing

Makes ~1 cup

Ingredients

1/2 cup olive oil

1 Tbsp dijon mustard

3 cloves garlic

3-4 Tbsp red wine vinegar

3/4-1 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Blend all ingredients together. If it’s too thick you can add more oil or a splash of water. It won’t ruin the taste. If it’s too thin, add a little more mustard or cheese.

Note: I love the garlic taste but if you’d like it less garlicky, eliminate some.

Serve with fresh greens and more cheese or croutons.Image

With love,
Anne

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Caesar Salad Dressing

  1. susan says:

    I just planted more greens. So, get ready for more! You might need other dressings!
    Aunt Susan

Leave a Reply

