Red Velvet Crinkle Cookies

I’m not sure I understand the craze around red velvet cake. I mean, it’s delicious, but people can be rather obsessed with it. Is it because it turns your tongue red? It’s chocolatey. So give me chocolate cake. This sounds like I’m bashing it, and well, maybe I am a little bit. I won’t turn it down by any means, but it’s never a first pick.

I felt like I needed to give red velvet a fair chance this week. I didn’t want to make cake so I made cookies that tasted sort of like brownies. They didn’t need to be red.

My conclusion on red velvet? Overrated. But these cookies sure are tasty! And so simple. I basically did nothing. Except eat them.

Red Velvet Crinkle Cookies
Adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod
Makes 24 cookies

Ingredients
1 box red velvet cake mix
2 Tbsp flour
2 eggs
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 tsp vanilla extract
Powdered sugar for rolling cookies in

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment.

Mix the cake mix and flour until combined. Add eggs, oil and vanilla until dough looks nearly clumpless. (Is that a word?)

Form dough into round balls and roll in powdered sugar. Place on baking sheet. Cook for 10 minutes or until edges are set and the cookie is cracked.

20130605-094539.jpg

20130605-100555.jpg

With love,
Anne

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Red Velvet Crinkle Cookies

Leave a Reply

