Horchata Milkshake

Image

Mayyyybe the best thing I’ve made.  Maybe.  Probably.  Definitely.  Well, it’s at least the best drink I’ve made, that is for sure!  I really don’t drink milkshakes because dairy overload usually makes me feel very sick.  Growing up my mom and I would go to Baskin-Robbins for chocolate milkshakes and always have stomach aches after, but we were glad we went.  So I’ve tried to learn since then, but I still like to test the waters every once in awhile.  This is rich but I felt fine afterward.  Don’t worry, I’m not posting a recipe with a disclaimer: YOU WILL FEEL SICK AFTER DRINKING THIS…you won’t.  You’ll be in heaven.  I only felt sick when I caught up on The Voice and my favorites were voted off…hmpf.

Oh!  If you aren’t aware…horchata is a sweet, milky iced drink made with rice, almonds, and cinnamon mostly.  It all depends but that’s the gist of it.  I saw a recipe with ice cream and decided to adapt from there.  Couldn’t hurt, really.  Painless.

The process to make this milkshake is rather quick, but you do need time to soak rice.  It has to soak for at least three hours, but can also soak overnight.  I think my rice soaked for about 7 hours.  Doesn’t make a difference! Image

Horchata Milkshake

Adapted from Food and Wine

Makes 2 milkshakes

Ingredients

1 cup long grain white rice, rinsed and soaked in water for at least 3 hours

3 cups water

4 medium cinnamon sticks, cracked

1/4 cup slivered almonds, toasted

1 1/4 Tbsp ground cinnamon

1 Tbsp sugar

2 Tbsp sweetened condensed milk

1 pint vanilla ice cream

1/2 cup ice

Directions

In a bowl, cover rice with the three cups of water.  Add cinnamon sticks and let stand for at least 3 hours at room temperature.  Discard the cinnamon sticks.

Toast almonds in a skillet for roughly 3 minutes.

In a small bowl, blend cinnamon and sugar.

Transfer rice and water to blender and blend with almonds to puree for 2 minutes.  Strain the horchata through a fine sieve into a bowl.  Rinse blender.

Return horchata to the blender and add the condensed milk and cinnamon sugar mixture.  Add ice cream and ice and blend.  Pour the shake into glasses with a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar on top.

With love,

Anne

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Horchata Milkshake

  1. Teresa says:

    add a little rumchata to the horchata? I’ll let you know how it goes…even though I know it will be awesome.

Leave a Reply

