On the Bright Side

It would be wrong to start this week’s post of On the Bright Side without mentioning the one person who lives her life “on the bright side” more than anyone I know.  My mom has had Parkinson’s Disease for nearly all of my life, which gives you a good sense of how long it has been.  She is a warrior.  She tackles every day with what seems like the utmost ease.  Whether that is the case or not, she’d never let you know.  She is a healthy, strong woman with lots of energy.  She has a side effect of Parkinson’s Disease.  At least, that’s what it seems like to me.

I wanted to share a video she created.  It’s for a conference but that’s irrelevant.  She has wanted to show that Parkinson’s Disease does not mean your life is over.  She wanted to show that she is still thriving in this life and won’t let it stop her from any normalcy.  That’s how I know her.  A normal mom.  She has always been there for our family and others.  She has always gone above and beyond when we least expect it.  She has always been capable of anything you and I can do.  In fact, she will always be a better cook, bike rider, and better person than I’ll ever be…so at 24, I can only hope to get close someday.

Here’s a link to her video.  She, of course, never made me share this with you, but I hope you love the video as much as I do.  Though I’m a little biased, I am so honored to have her as my mother. And even if we don’t go near her when she is chopping things, she still has all of her fingers, toes, and other limbs.

And now, I’ll carry on with my pictures.  But those hardly compare.Image

{Neighborhood sights}ImageImageImageImage

{As soon as this house goes on the market a down payment will be made}Image

{Illegal to park here?}Image

{A blurry Seattle on a Friday night}Image

{A clear Seattle on a Sunday afternoon}ImageImageImage

{Gasworks Park}

ImageImage

{She is becoming a regular visitor.  We talked about all the neighbors, the weather, and testing out cat nip recipes for the blog.}Image

{Lilacs.  Swoon}

Image

{After a long day of work, I still manage to be overwhelmed by the beauty}

With love,

Anne

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “On the Bright Side

  1. Pat Vurdelja says:

    I am so touched and proud of you and your ability to put your feelings in writing and share with so many people. I have learned so much from you. Love, Mom

    On Tue, May 7, 2013 at 8:05 AM, Grub with Love

  2. Grandma V. says:

    Pat is certainly awesome. We admire her and love her very much.

Leave a Reply

