Sweet Potato and Spinach Soup (For the Veggie Soul)

Well, here’s that soup I mentioned yesterday.  ImageOh wait.  That’s an AWFUL picture and my slippers are in there.  Talk about too much natural light!  

This soup could not be any easier to make…and despite what you may think, it’s filling!  I promise.  It’s that sweet potato, I tell ya.  ImageI’m taking a little trip this weekend so I won’t have anything to eat Friday.  I mean, I’ll eat, but I won’t cook for you (me) (Max) (everyone).  You’ll have to save your leftover soup, I suppose.  

And if you notice that this is my second recipe adapted from Shutterbean this week,  you would be correct.  She’s my fave.  Even if she put sausage in the soup.  

Here we go then.

Sweet Potato and Spinach Soup

Adapted from Shutterbean

Serves 6

Ingredients

1 Tbsp olive oil

1 large yellow onion, diced

3 cloves garlic, minced

salt and pepper

2 medium sized sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into chunks (about an inch)

4 cups vegetable broth

2 cups water

1 cup shells (I used Orecchiette) (also had to google how to spell it)

6 cups spinach

Grated parmesan for serving

Directions

Over medium-high heat, heat oil and add the onion and garlic, cooking for roughly 6 minutes until onion is translucent.  Season with salt and pepper to your liking. 

Add sweet potatoes, broth, and 2 cups of water.  Bring to a boil.  Add pasta and cool for 3 minutes less than package suggests.  

Reduce to a simmer, add your spinach, and cook your pasta until tender and greens have wilted.  (4 minutes) 

Serve with parmesan!

You may also top with Sriracha—of course I had to!Image

With love, 

Anne

 

 

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

