BBQ and Caramelized Onion Grilled Cheese

Have I told you about my addiction to BBQ sauce?  I think I have.  I’d be surprised if I haven’t but this addiction is just within the past year.  I couldn’t tell you how or why it started but it did and I have zero complaints about it.  I already made you a BBQ pizza but now I’ve made you a grilled cheese.  I think I actually made the majority of it caramelized onions because I’m hooked, but I wasn’t about to call this a caramelized onion sandwich.  Although, I have had one from a sandwich place here.  It’s one of the most popular sandwich shops and it’s called Paseo.  I’ll take you there when you visit, too.  So whatever you want to call this sandwich, call it GOOD.ImageBBQ and Caramelized Onion Grilled Cheese

Makes 4 sandwiches

Ingredients (these are the basics, you decide your preferences)

8 slices of your choice of bread (I just found a basic fresh loaf at the store)

Barbecue sauce (Sweet Baby Ray’s, please!)

8 slices cheddar cheese

1 large red onion, caramelized 

2 Tbsp fresh cilantro, roughly chopped

2 Tbsp butter

Directions

Melt butter over medium hot skillet. 

Single sandwich:  Lather barbecue sauce on each slice of bread and place one slice of cheddar on top (2).  Add a pile of caramelized onions (about 1/4 cup) and several bits of chopped cilantro.  Melt on skillet and flip to the other side when golden brown.  

Repeat for the rest of the sandwiches.  Feel free to add chicken or pork or anything else that’s barbecue-y and meaty. 

I’m sticking with this.ImageWith love, 

Anne

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “BBQ and Caramelized Onion Grilled Cheese

  1. TheDixieDish says:

    Looks great! Nice recipe and post.

  2. ericrynne says:

    oOh!! totally trying this out! So simple and easy to do! Lovin it!

Leave a Reply

