Chile Rellenos with Avocado Crema

Image

I could seriously eat some form of Mexican food every day if you let me.  Would you let me already?  It’s the best.  Forget Italian, Greek, Polish, anything.  Mexican food is so darn good.  The problem, as someone who does not eat meat, is finding options while dining out.  Lots of Mexican restaurants have veggie tacos, burritos, etc.  But not all of them.  AND, without fail, the vegetarian option at most restaurants is Chile Rellenos.  Thank God.  I happen to love those cheese filled peppers so much!  My favorite that I have had are from a restaurant in Chicago called Zocalo.  They are amazing (and they always have a Groupon!)  The perfect amount of spiciness, tons of cheese, and rice and beans.  That’s all I need to be a happy camper, ya know?  People think I can’t eat at restaurants…let it be known, I can always find something! I’m not a hassle!!!  Whew.  Glad I got that off my chest.

Moooooving on.  I decided these guys needed some sort of sauce or topping.  I created my own avocado crema and I’m forever in love.  I don’t even like sour cream, but I could put this on anything.

Let’s get started, shall we?Image

For the avocado crema, I used the ingredients above and blended them.  I also added a couple tablespoons of water to make it smooth.  If it doesn’t need it, don’t worry about adding it.

Image

Broil those poblanos!Image

Here is the kicker.  I found jalapeño monterey jack cheese to stuff the peppers.  I like the spice, but you can just as easily use regular monterey jack (or add jalapeños to the cheese).  The jalapeño cheese is from Trader Joe’s.

Image

Chile Rellenos with Avocado Crema

Makes 4 peppers

Ingredients

4 poblano peppers, seeds removed

1 1/2 cups jalapeño monterey jack cheese, cubed

Milk

Breadcrumbs

Flour

{Milk, breadcrumbs, and flour are for dredging}

For the avocado crema:

1 avocado

~1/4 cup sour cream

1/4 cup cilantro, chopped

1/2 lime, juiced

Pinch of salt

2 Tbsp water (if necessary)

Directions

Broil poblano peppers for a few minutes, until a bit charred on top.  Let cool completely.  Cut the top almost all the way through and remove the seeds.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Stuff peppers with cubes of cheese until full.  Dredge in milk, then flour, then milk, then breadcrumbs.  Coat completely with mixture.  Place in baking dish.  Cook for 30 minutes, or until golden brown.  You may need to broil the top for a minute or two once they have baked fully.  That’s what I did.

Blend all avocado crema ingredients and drizzle over the top of the chile rellenos.  Serve with rice and/or beans.

Image

With love,

Anne

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

