Creamy Polenta with Peppers

Happy Monday!  I did not want this weekend to end because it was in the 70s!!  This weather makes everyone in this city so darn happy.  I love it (but I don’t mind the rain either!)  I’m focused on the sun at the moment though.  Since it was Easter weekend and we weren’t with our family, we tried to make the most of it.  We spent time with friends and Mother Nature.  I still sent all of my hugs back home because they especially needed them this weekend.  I wish I could have hugged them in person!

I thought I’d share a comforting recipe today for the ones who need a little comfort.  Polenta may not be a favorite for everyone but I surely enjoy it.  And with butter and cheese, it’s bound to taste good, right?

The recipe I adapted this from adds chicken sausage.  If you think that’s something you would like to add, check out the original!

Hugs.

Image

Creamy Polenta with Peppers

Adapted from Bev Cooks

Serves 4

Ingredients

1 cup polenta (dried cornmeal)

2 cups milk

1 cup water

1/3 cup freshly grated parmesan

2 Tbsp butter

1 pinch of salt and pepper

1 Tbsp olive oil

1 red bell pepper, cut into thin strips

1 green bell pepper, cut into thin strips

Cilantro, for garnish

Directions

In a medium saucepan, heat the milk and water on medium and then add the polenta.  Whisk continually until the polenta thickens and gets creamy.  It takes about 20 minutes.  Double check your polenta package!  Take the polenta off the heat and add the butter and cheese.  Mix well.

Sauté the peppers on an oiled pan until browned and a bit softened.  Add a pinch of salt and pepper.

Fill a bowl with the polenta and place a good amount of peppers on top.  Add cilantro for garnish and more parmesan if you’d like.

I forgot to add the cilantro before I took the picture so it’s not QUITE as pretty.  Don’t forget it!  It’s necessary.

Image

With love,

Anne

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

