Coconut Macaroon Nutella Cookie Nests

I cannot stress how important it is that you follow these directions WORD FOR WORD…because when you make these you don’t want two perfect macaroons and the rest falling apart and turning into a pile of coconut-y goodness.  I’m not going to throw them out by any means…PLEASE.  It’s still edible!Image

Better 1 or…

Image

Better 2?

I mean…okay…my fault.  You just can’t let them cool on the baking sheet for 20 minutes.  I REPEAT:  You just can’t let them cool on the baking sheet for 20 minutes.  And then you will have 12 little nests perfect for Easter guests.

Lucky for us, we won’t be having guests for Easter so individual nests are not nest-essary.  I wish you knew how much I crack myself up.  Side thought: I think it’s important to make yourself laugh.

I am looking forward to the weekend.  I’m participating in a Scrambled Egg 5-k.  Sounds fine, but actually you pick up eggs along the way and they can either help or hurt your time.  What a great idea!  (Obviously time does not matter to me—-but I hope I can run the race backwards and still win)  I’ll keep you posted.  Sunday will be a hiking day with Max.  There was a bit of debate on whether we should hike Poo Poo Point (real place) but we chose a better one (if you can believe it).

And now, back to your recipe.  Have a Happy Easter, everyone.

Image

Coconut Macaroon Nutella Cookie Nests

Adapted from Two Peas & Their Pod

Makes 12 nests

Ingredients

2/3 cup sweetened condensed milk

1 large egg white

1 1/2 tsps vanilla

1/8 tsp salt

3 1/2 cups sweetened shredded coconut

1 cup Nutella

Mini Cadbury eggs (I used dark chocolate)

Directions

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, stir together, sweetened condensed milk, egg white, vanilla, and salt.

Add the coconut to the mix.

Scoop about 2 Tablespoons with a spoon and place on your baking sheet.  Form the cookies in the shape of a nest.  Press down the center of the nest with your thumb.

Bake cookies for 17-20 minutes, until golden brown.  Remove from the oven and press your thumb on the center again. Cool the cookies for only 5 minutes before placing the cookies on a cooling rack.

Once the cookies have completely cooled, drop one Tablespoon of Nutella in the center of each nest.  Place 3 mini Cadbury eggs on top of the Nutella.

IMG_5297

With love,

Anne

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

