Pad Thai

Image

Phad?  Pad?  Pod?  Pawd?  Ohhhh my goodness, you guys.  However it’s pronounced or spelled or eaten, I decided to make this last night.  Now you should know something—I never ate too much Thai food before I moved to Seattle.  Let’s just say it’s not looming on every street like it is here.  When my cousin Emily and I lived in Belltown, we were dangerously close to a tasty Thai restaurant.  The worst part was that you could order carry-out so we really just walked outside in our sweats and sweatshirts and picked it up in 2 minutes.  Wait, haven’t I said style isn’t an issue around here?  Right.  So, no big deal!  Emily introduced me to Pad Kee Mao and I’ve never gotten anything different since that monumental day.  I still won’t be ordering anything else, most likely.  I feel like it’s a weird thing to order because the noodles are huge and mushy, but perfect in my mind.

Pad Thai is a classic and can be found at every Thai restaurant.  The problem, for me, is that there are too many ingredients that are not found in our kitchen.  Sure, I can go get fish sauce, tamarind, and chili paste, but if I can find it without, I will!

Speaking of fish sauce, I should let it be known that I do eat some fish.  I didn’t for awhile but I was robbing myself of all the delicious salmon, halibut, and crab that Seattle has to offer.  I know people get technical about that stuff so I just say “I don’t eat meat.”  I am not about to call myself a pescetarian…not sure why, but it just sounds so snobby to me.  AND vegetarians already get a bad reputation with the meat eating community.  It’s a lose-lose with you carnivores!

Pad Thai

Adapted from Brownies for Dinner

Serves 3

Ingredients

8 oz wide and flat rice noodles, dried

2 Tbsp brown sugar

2 Tbsp lime juice, plus extra wedges for the end

3 Tbsp soy sauce

1 Tbsp Sriracha, {optional}

2 tsp vegetable oil

4 scallions, white and green parts, separated and thinly sliced (the white parts should be thinly sliced and the green parts should be about an inch in length)

1 garlic clove, minced

2 large eggs, {optional}

1/2 cup fresh cilantro, roughly chopped

1/4 cup lightly salted peanuts, roughly chopped

Directions

Soak or cook noodles according to package.  Some rice noodles just need to soak for a bit, but my noodles could be in boiled water.  I boiled water and cooked them for about 4 minutes.  Drain noodles.

In a small bowl, whisk brown sugar, lime juice, soy sauce, and Sriracha.

In a skillet, pour beaten eggs and cook until nearly set.  This should be a couple minutes, maximum.  Set aside on a separate plate.

Heat the vegetable oil on the now empty skillet and add the garlic and white parts of the scallions.  Cook for roughly 1 minute.  Add the drained noodles and sauce to the skillet.  Mix well.

Add the egg back into the skillet and break it apart with a spatula as you mix so that there aren’t any huge chunks.  Cook for 1 more minute.  Add the green parts of the scallions, cilantro, and peanuts.

Top with more cilantro, peanuts, and lime juice, if needed.  I added about 3 more tablespoons of Sriracha because I’m that sort of person…

ImageWith love,

Anne

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

