Too Simple Pumpkin Pie

Birthdays have always been special in our family.  We like to be together.  We like to eat our favorite foods.  We like thinking of the perfect gifts.  Growing up, and still to this day, we celebrate together with whomever is nearby.  My mom always made our favorite meal with our dessert of choice.  I was a creature of habit, much like my dad, and had chocolate cake with chocolate frosting.  We never wanted anything else because once you have had this particular chocolate cake with chocolate frosting, all other desserts are forgotten.  Cakes are such a typical birthday dessert.  I’m not sure why they are the go-to dessert but it’s just traditional, I guess.  Anyway, do you know who is not traditional?  My brother, John.  He’s one of the most fascinating people I am lucky enough to know, and at times, lucky enough to say we are related!  Kidding 🙂  Growing up, John always had pumpkin pie.  That is what happens when the birthday boy does not like cake.  To be fair, he does like frosting on cake.  Even still, pumpkin pie graced our table every February eleventh.  Most people relate pumpkin pie to Thanksgiving.  I also relate it to John’s birthday.  It was always a treat to have it more than once a year.  Now that I’m older, I don’t really get why I don’t eat pumpkin pie more often.  No one is stopping me.  I suppose I just enjoy the meaning behind the pumpkin pie versus the availability.  Since John’s birthday is today, I made a pumpkin pie to celebrate from afar.  I know he may have preferred I send it instead of bake it and eat it, but those things don’t ship so well.

Considering I am not giving this to John today, I made this very simple and used a store bought crust.  SORRY.  I’m not too sorry.  Just keeping things easy as pie…HA!

Image

You only use six ingredients for this simple pie.  I’m sure you have most of it already!  I’ll leave it up to you if you want to make your own crust.  If you do, send me some, please.

Image

Too Simple Pumpkin Pie

Adapted from Allrecipes.com

Serves 6

Ingredients

1 15 oz can pumpkin

1 14 oz can sweetened condensed milk

2 eggs

1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp salt

1 9 inch store bought crust (or homemade!)

Directions

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

In a bowl, thoroughly whisk the pumpkin and sweetened condensed milk.  Add eggs, spices, and salt and mix.  Pour mixture into pie crust.  Bake for 15 minutes and then reduce heat to 375 degrees.  Bake for another 30-35 minutes, until knife inserted comes out clean.

Enjoy on birthdays or not on birthdays.  Happy Birthday, John!

Image

Image

With love,

Anne

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

