Dough Balls

Let’s end this week on a sweet note, shall we?  I grew up with a mother making the best chocolate chip cookies ever.  Not just because every mother supposedly makes the best chocolate chip cookies, but because the recipe was from the back of the Nestle Tollhouse chocolate chip bag.  If you have ever watched Friends, you would probably believe that those cookies never fail!  They are simple.  They are gooey.  They are soft with a little crunch.  What more does one need?  I don’t need nuts.  I don’t need sprinkles.  I don’t need chunks of snickers.  I just need simple chocolate chip cookies.  I think people try to make cookies super intricate by adding white chocolate or pretzels or potato chips (really).  The answer is simply to read the directions from the chocolate chip bag, create, and bake.  And devour.

Well the reason I’m telling you this is because I could never complain about those delicious chocolate chip cookies.  There is no reason to mess with something that works.  A couple years ago, I found myself reading my usual food blogs in the morning.  I used to religiously read a blog from a woman who posts vegan recipes (Peas and Thank You).  Now, I don’t want to be vegan but I was curious about her recipes.  I found myself insanely curious about her post “Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Dough Balls.”  Wait.  Dough balls?  With peanut butter?  Whatever vegan treat this was, it sounded good.  Real good.  I decided to give it a try.  I didn’t use the organic sugar or the natural peanut butter that the recipe called for, however, I brought myself to using the non-dairy margarine.  Gulp.  It sort of weirds me out, but I knew that normal butter could mess up the dough ball form or taste.  You can’t even tell the difference once it has baked.  The result?  Perfect, soft, dough balls.  Greater than almost anything I have ever had.

Image

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Dough Balls

Adapted from Peas and Thank You

Makes 30 small dough balls

Ingredients

1/2 cup non-dairy margarine (I used Earth Balance)

3/4 cup creamy peanut butter

1/2 cup brown sugar

3/4 cup powdered sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

3/4 tsp salt

1 cup pastry flour

1/2 cup flour

1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

2-3 Tbsp milk

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Beat margarine, peanut butter, sugars, and vanilla extract until fully mixed.

In a separate bowl, combine baking powder, baking soda, salt, and flours.  Add the dry mixture slowly until dough forms.  Add chocolate chips.

The dough will be very dry and grainy.  Add milk until it is moist.

You can scoop with a melon baller and place on a baking sheet.  I just use my hands to make little 1 and 1/2 inch thick dough balls.

Bake for 10-12 minutes.  I usually take mine out after 10.  They may look incredibly soft and not cooked.  They will cook for an extra minute on the cookie sheet after you take them out of the oven.  They are called dough balls for a reason!  Let them cool on a drying rack, unless you eat them all before they get there.

You cannot find this recipe on the back of the chocolate chip bag…

Image

With love,

Anne

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Dough Balls

  1. Myra says:

    Wanted to say Hi, I live in the Seattle area too (Auburn). I love to cook and love to eat even more. These dough balls look great. My husband is a firm naturalist when it comes to his chocolate chip cookies. No nuts, no raisins no oatmeal period. But how can he resist chocolate and peanut butter! I’m making these this weekend, thanks.

Leave a Reply

