Spicy Vegetarian Chili

Hello!

I’ve been planning this new food blog for quite some time and here it is!   I will be posting new recipes just about every week day.  If you are feeling like you could use a little inspiration for weeknight meals, please stop by!  Let me be honest.  I do not eat meat, but I try to make meals that appeal to all.  I like to make healthy and hearty meals, but that doesn’t mean I will not be sharing my baking and other tempting meals.  If you would like to know a little more about how I decide to make these recipes, check out my “With Love” section.

Let’s get right to it!  I made you chili to kick things off.  Can I tell you this is my favorite chili I’ve made so far?  It’s full of lots of delicious flavors and protein-packed to leave you feeling full until you want to heat up your leftovers.  This chili even has a bottle of beer in it!  Are you still with me?

Spicy Vegetarian Chili

Adapted from Joy the Baker

Serves 6-8

Ingredients

3 Tbsp olive oil

1 medium yellow onion, diced

1 red bell pepper, diced

1 green bell pepper, diced

3 small cloves garlic, diced

1 medium jalapeño, diced

1 cup of beer (I used a whole bottle of an amber ale…oops!)

2 Tbsp of chili powder

1 tsp coriander

1/3 cup barbecue sauce

1 15oz can of black beans

1 15 oz can of garbanzo beans

1 28oz can of diced tomatoes

1-2 cups of vegetable stock (depending on how soupy you want it)

Pepper jack cheese, grated—optional (but not really)

Directions

Heat the olive oil in a pot and sauté the onion and garlic.  Once the onions and garlic are slightly browned, add the bell peppers and cook for four minutes, until soft.  Add the jalapeño, chili powder, and coriander into the pot.  Cook for two minutes.

Add the beer to the pot and mix well.  When the beer stops sizzling, add the barbecue sauce, beans, tomatoes, and vegetable stock.  Bring the mixture to a low boil and cook for fifteen minutes.  Sprinkle some of your favorite cheese on top!

This recipe makes a lot of chili and great leftovers.

IMG_4828

IMG_4831

With love,

Anne

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

