Basil Prosecco

Image

Cheers!  I made a delicious drink for you.  Not my own idea but it should have been considering I happen to love basil more than most green things.  Well, I delayed making it because Max and I are engaged, but we are definitely still celebrating!  It happened about one week ago and we are over the moon.  We popped regular champagne the night we got engaged, but since you can never have too much bubbly, I thought I’d try this basil concoction.  I feel like I don’t need to say this, but if you don’t like basil….you really won’t like this!  You can also pretend like you are drinking a juice full of kale and celery and lettuce…except way better!!!!

Image

 

Basil Prosecco

From The Novice Chef

Serves 4 

Ingredients

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup water

10 fresh basil leaves

1 tsp fresh lemon juice 

1 bottle Prosecco

Basil or lemon twists for garnish

Directions

Over medium heat, stir sugar and water until the sugar has dissolved.  Chill immediately.

Blend the chilled simple syrup with basil leaves and lemon juice until smooth.

Strain basil mixture into champagne glasses/flutes.  Roughly 1 Tbsp per drink.  Straining is important to get rid of chunks of basil.  Reduce the “Do I have anything in my teeth” questions.  Portion out Prosecco over 4 glasses.  Drink up! 

Image

With love, 

Anne

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

