Avocado Brownies with Avocado Frosting

ImageImageOkay let’s hear your comments before we get started.  I’m sure you saw the title and immediately closed your web page.  I know, I know, “you’ve got to be kidding” is what you are saying.  Well, I understand.  It’s not everyday you crave a brownie made with avocados.  Actually, I myself have never had that craving.  I suppose this post is meant for the adventurous—those who think it could be fun!  I can see my mom’s eyes rolling in front of her computer screen.  It’s only a matter of time before she responds and says “I don’t think I’ll be making this one!”

I get it.  Really.  But the thing is, I want you to try them!  They are so fudgy, it’s ridiculous.  And I have a pan to eat because Max isn’t here.  Let’s face it, if he was here, I’d still have a pan to eat….maybe.  Maybe not, because he is a sweetheart like that.

So if you want to unfollow me now, here’s your opportunity.  “Oh yeah, I stopped following Grub with Love because of those dumb avocado brownies.  WHAT WAS THE DEAL WITH THOSE?!”ImageHmpf.

Additionally, don’t you hate when you use the last of your baking ingredients on a recipe?  In this process, I ran out of powdered sugar, eggs, and vanilla extract.  Major bummer, you guys.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go water my avocado tree and change into my organic burlap pants.

Avocado Brownies with Avocado Frosting 

Adapted from How Sweet It Is

Serves 9

Ingredients

2 large, ripe avocados, mashed well

8 ounces dark chocolate, melted

1 cup granulated sugar

2 large eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

3/4 cup all purpose flour

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 tsp salt

4 ounces dark chocolate, chopped

For frosting:

1 large, ripe avocado

2 1/2 cups powdered sugar

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

Directions 

For brownies: 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray a 9 by 9 inch pan with cooking spray.

In a large bowl, whisk avocado and melted chocolate together.  Whisk in sugar until combined, then add eggs and vanilla extract.  Add flour, cocoa, salt, and baking powder.  Don’t overmix.  Use a large spoon.

Fold in chopped chocolate and spread evenly in baking pan.  Bake for 28-32 minutes, or until middle is set.  Remove and let cool completely.  Then frost!

For the frosting: 

Add avocado to a bowl and mix with your electric mixer until smooth.  Lower the speed and add in your powdered sugar (a little at a time) and vanilla extract.  Frost brownies when cooled.

I kept my brownies in the refrigerator FYI.ImageWith love,

Anne

Tagged ,

5 thoughts on “Avocado Brownies with Avocado Frosting

  1. susan says:

    I am with you on the brownie part. You lost me on the frosting! :)
    I think you would look good in burlap.
    Love, Aunt Susan

  2. patvurdelja says:

    Loved your blog.You were right on with your mother’s reaction and others .I do believe you that they are tasty.

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. grubwithlove says:

    I’ll have to come up with better brownies for next week so that people don’t think less of me. Thanks for the nice words, either way.

  4. Myra says:

    They look like Dr. Seuss Brownies. I bet the brownies are very moist, they do look good. The frosting is a step to far though. Lol

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

