Tomato and Fontina Cheese Pizza

Oh boy.

Today is one of those days where I’m sad because we don’t have any leftovers from last night’s dinner.  Do you ever have those feelings of emptiness?  Surely I am never sad when I can’t find extra salad greens the next day from a boring salad!  I’m always sad when I’m left leftoverless when it comes to pizza.  Hmpf.  I suppose I’ll look back on the time (last night) fondly and remember how much happiness filled the apartment with every single bite.  Sigh.

Image

What I’m getting at is…make this pizza already, you guys.  I’ll help you.  And it’s not juuuuust tomatoes and cheese.  It’s bolder than that!  Why?  Because there is a balsamic glaze on top.  That’s why!

First, make your pizza dough!

ImageImage

Tomato and Fontina Cheese Pizza

Slightly adapted from How Sweet It Is

Makes 1 large pizza

Ingredients

1 pizza dough

4 roma tomatos, 1/4 in slices

1 cup of baby spinach

Olive oil

3 cloves roasted garlic, chopped

5 ounces freshly grated fontina cheese

3 ounces freshly grated parmesan cheese

1 cup balsamic vinegar

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Flour your pizza dough and roll or press into a big circle or square or whatever!

In a bowl, mix parmesan and fontina thoroughly.

Brush the entire surface of the pizza dough with olive oil.  Add 3/4 of your cheese mixture to the bottom.  Layer tomatoes, spinach, and garlic evenly over pizza.

Top the rest of your pizza with the cheese.

Bake for roughly 20 minutes, or until it starts to crisp and become brown.

While your pizza is cooking, bring your cup of balsamic vinegar to a boil and then simmer for 20 minutes.  Remove from heat and allow to thicken for 10 minutes.  Drizzle balsamic glaze over the entire pizza when it has finished baking.  (My glaze was not as thick as I would have liked but I think I was just antsy—patience!)

Image

With love,

Anne

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Tomato and Fontina Cheese Pizza

  1. Sam says:

    This looks amazing! Oh my word.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

