Peanut Butter Cup Muffins

Image

My mind has quite frankly been in a million places this weekend.  I hope those of you who follow me will forgive me for publishing this post last night after I only put the pictures in.  I just clicked publish without a second of hesitation.  Whoops!  I apologize if you tried to read about Peanut Butter Chip Muffins on Sunday night, only to not find anything about these little delights.

Now I’m here and I want to talk to you about these muffins.  I never make muffins, really.  I also don’t eat them.  If given the choice, I’d pick a million breakfast foods before them.  Actually, that can’t be true because bacon is part of roughly three-quarters of all breakfast foods.  You get the picture.

I was looking for a muffin recipe that had peanut butter in it because we have a Costco-sized jar in our cupboard and I wanted to use some of it.  If only so that we have an excuse to go back to Costco soon.ImageThe recipe I found used chocolate chunks but I wanted mine extra peanut buttery.  You can decide to use regular chocolate chips, too!  I’m holding mini peanut butter cups.  They are ridiculously good and almost too good to bake in anything.  Probably meant to eat all by their lonesome, but I can always buy more…ImageLet’s bake, shall we?ImagePeanut Butter Cup Muffins

Adapted from How Sweet It Is

Makes 15-18 muffins

Ingredients

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup cake flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 large egg

1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted and cooled

1/2 cup peanut butter, melted and cooled

2/3 cup milk

2/3 cup peanut butter cups (or any sort of chocolate chip/chunk)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

On the stove, melt butter and peanut butter in a pan.  Let cool before adding to mix.

In a small bowl, whisk both flours (if you have pastry flour, just use 2 cups of that instead of all-purpose and cake flours!), baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

in a large bowl, whisk together your egg, yogurt and sugar until combined.  Add in (cooled) melted butter and peanut butter, whisking until creamy.  Add milk and continue to whisk.

Add the bowl of dry ingredients and your peanut butter cups and mix with a spoon.  Do not over mix—-just thorough enough!

Add your muffin batter to your muffin liners and fill about 3/4 of the way.  Bake for 15-18 minutes.  Let them cool before serving.

These muffins can be slathered with butter, more peanut butter, or jam.

You know what they say, “if you give a moose a muffin, he’ll want some jam to go with it.”ImageWith love,

Anne

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

