Spinach and Artichoke Linguine

Wait a second…

I swear I’m not always eating cheesy pasta with spinach!  But if I was, would you really fault me?  This pasta is a fancier (and I use the term loosely) version of Fettuccine Alfredo (FA).  I am not a fan of FA.  I haven’t had/ordered it in at least a decade.  To me, there are lots of other delicious pasta dishes that don’t leave you feeling like there is a ten pound rock in your stomach.  Unless that’s the kind of full feeling you are looking for…

Side note:  Every time I think about FA, I think of this scene from The Office when Michael Scott is carbo-loading for the Fun Run (that he is currently running).  Never gets old.  I miss Michael…I need a post about that.

Back to the carbo-loading.  I found this recipe from one of my favorite bloggers at How Sweet It Is.  She is sort of a genius.  And her pictures are 943705135 times better than mine, so you should probably reference those for this linguine :)

Image

Image

Image

Spinach and Artichoke Linguine 

From How Sweet It Is

Serves 4

Ingredients

1/2 lb linguine

2 Tbsp olive oil

1 Tbsp butter

2 shallots, diced

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

4 garlic cloves, minced

8 oz fresh spinach

1 jar of marinated artichokes, drained and coarsely chopped

1/2 cup ricotta cheese

1/3 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese

3 Tbsp mascarpone cheese

Directions

Boil water and prepare pasta according to directions.

Heat a large skillet over medium-low heat and add olive oil and butter.  Add in shallots, salt, pepper, and cook for 5 minutes, until soft.  Add in spinach and toss well to coat.  Once the spinach has wilted, add garlic and artichokes and cook for 5 minutes.  Stir in ricotta, parmesan, and mascarpone, until combined.

Drain pasta and add to skillet.  Toss thoroughly with spinach and artichoke mixture.

ImageImage

With love,

Anne

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

